Archive for March, 2013

Radio Clash Live Live Live tonight at 9:30pm – Pop Is Dead 2

Tonight (9:30pm-11:30pm BST, repeated 4am Sat), on the live broadcast I’m going to sock it to the record industry with the long-awaited return of the Pop Is Dead show – the second part is called Arseholes & Repetoire and includes the likes of XTC, Kinks, Nick Lowe. Sound of Sha’Bass, Fall, Bonzo Dog Band, Crumb, Sage Francis, Bruce Haack, Clash, E40, My Drug Hell, Stan Freberg, Stark Effect to name a few!

The last 30 mins of every live show will be exclusive to the stream, either as a History of Mashups show or just ‘Radio Clash Xtra’…not on the podcast, not anywhere else – tonight if I get it prepped in time will be History of Mashups 9 – James Brown.

Summer comes early and so does April Notre Jam tonight 11:30pm

Summertime is here on Sunday but you’d not know it here with snow on the ground – but to brighten your day (or night) there’s an early new April edition of Notre Jam from Joel Crookes tonight at 11:30pm GMT / Sunday at 2am BST (yes our clocks go forward then!). It’s another in the Disco Heartbeat series, so good for you Easter Disco Bunnies (how many more Easter/BST references can we get into this?)

The schedules have been rejigged slightly this week so 50 Pound Note will now start at 00:30am and not 00:15am as before.

  • MFSB – Mysteries Of The World
  • Love Unlimited Orchestra – Satin Soul
  • Kid Creole & The Coconuts – Going Places (Zemix Version)
  • Philly Devotions – Hurt So Bad (A Tom Moulton Mix)
  • Sylvester – Over And Over (7″ Edit)
  • Caroline Crawford – Coming On Strong
  • Was (Not Was) – Out Come The Freaks
  • Teddy Pendergrass -You Can’t Hide From Yourself (Dimitri From Paris Super Disco Blend)
  • Stargard – Wear It Out
  • Betty Wright – Where Is The Love (Danny Krivit Edit)
  • Prince – I Wanna Be Your Lover (Dimitri From Paris Re-Edit)

Solcofn Sessions #11 – Tuesday & Saturday!

Latest instalment of A Little Bit of Sol arrives on Tuesday 2am GMT & Saturday 2:30pm GMT with #11 of his Sessions – have a look at the tracklist below!

  • The Mary Onettes – Hit The Waves
  • Tangled Thoughts Of Leaving – Failed By Man And Machine
  • Crash Kings – Mountain Man
  • The Veils – Another Night On Earth
  • Wookid – Conquest Of Space
  • Wild Belle – When It’s Over
  • Unkle Bob – Turning Pages
  • Lord Huron – Time To Run
  • Wavves – I Can’t Dream
  • Discovery – Slang Tang
  • Gemma Ray – Carpathian Lullaby
  • Vasco Da Gama – Brigadiers
  • Youngblood Hawke – Rootless
  • Phidel – Beside You (Automne Mix)
  • Black Light Burns – The Moment You Realize You’re Going To Fall
  • Cankun – Acinom
  • Phosphorescent – Song For Zula
  • Carmen Villan – Dreamo
  • Team Ghost – Things Are Sometimes Tragic
  • Daughter – Lifeforms
  • Wave Machines – Walk Before I Run

New Lloydbrary 4:45am & 8:15am Thursday

Opening up a new book in the Lloydbrary and an addition to the playlist – #16 – first playing this Thursday 4:45am & 8:15pm GMT. This one is a special catalogue of post-rock & post-punk, britpop, electro house and funk.
  • Slint – Nosferatu man
  • Minutemen – D’s car jam – anxious mofo
  • Beastie Boys – Finger lickin’ good
  • ESG – Moody
  • Siouxsie and the Banshees – Happy house
  • The Brothers Johnson – Streetwave
  • Lightin’ Rod – Sport
  • Jean-Claude Pelletier – Special streaking
  • The J.B.s – Pass the peas
  • Ugly Duckling – Eye on the goldchain
  • Kool and the Gang – Give it up
  • Christ – Zeroth law
  • Nathan Fake – The sky was pink
  • Ride – Drive blind
  • Ulrich Schnauss – on my own
  • Blur – Popscene

Chat with us!

You might have noticed a little blue box (no, not a TARDIS) in the right hand corner – this is a chat window – come say hi, we don’t bite – especially during live shows!

Another chance to hear Solcofn’s exclusive Sessions mixes!

You might have heard these last week – but the two exclusive Solcofn Sessions are repeated again at 2:00am GMT on Tuesday and Wednesday this week and Sunday 2:30pm. Check em out, full of ambient eclectic loveliness…

Session 9 (Tuesday 2am GMT, 2:30pm Sunday)

  • Hurts – The Rope
  • Zimpala – Into The Maze
  • Russ Liquid – Alpha Bravo Echo Zulu
  • Villagers – Home
  • The Besnard Lakes – People Of The Sticks
  • Night Works – Modern European
  • Rhye – One Of Those Summer Days
  • Nils Petter Molvaer – Only These Things Count
  • The Virgins – Blue Rose Tattoo
  • Pickwick – Lady Luck (Featuring Sharon Van Etten)
  • New York Gypsy All-Stars – Cross Winds
  • Cass Fox – Save Me
  • Chrome Sparks – Send The Pain On
  • Chapel Club – Surfacing
  • Little Dragon – Shuffle A Dream
  • Two Hours Traffic – Strangers On The Street
  • Bastille – These Streets
  • Slowness – Repeater
  • Youth Lagoon – The Bath
  • Mama Rosin – Le Pistolet
  • The Sweets – Suduce Her Lonely Smile
  • Atoms For Peace – Before Your Very Eyes

Session 10 (Wednesday 2am GMT, 4pm Sunday)

  • Gauntlet Hair – Keep Time
  • The Gandalf Murphy And The Slambovian Circus Of Dreams – Picture
  • Odawas – Getting To Another Plane
  • Ror Shak – Golden Cage (Featuring Julee Cruise)
  • Demdike Stare – Nothing But The Night
  • Pterodactyl Plains – Red Umbrella
  • Blakroc – What You Do To Me
  • Under Electric Light – Someone Somewhere
  • Landscape – Into The Night
  • Carolina Chocolate Drops – Country Girl
  • Lay Bac – Stay Out Tonight
  • Solar Bears – She Was Colouered In
  • Jap Jap – Tell Me How
  • Elephant Stone – Sally Go Round The Sun
  • Vuneny – Whatever Singularity
  • Lola Kite – Don’t Block Our Sun
  • Foals – Inhaler
  • Beats Antique – Spiderbite
  • Zeebee – The One I Am
  • Post War Years – Mellotron
  • Jesse Ware – Wildest Moments
  • Poolside – Golden Hour

Lloydbrary 15 tonight at 20:15


Don’t forget to listen to the latest addition to RCL Lloydbrary #15 tonight at 20:15 GMT.

Here’s the tracklist:

Lalo Schifrin – Joe Kidd (Main theme)
The Common People – Soon there’ll be thunder
The Beta Band – It’s not too beautiful
Allah-Las – Catamaran
Ice T – New jack hustler
James Brown – Give it up or turnit a loose
Alan Tew – Scene change 3A
Paul Revere & the Raiders – Let me!
Prefuse 73 – Busy signal (Make you go bombing mix)
Skream – Midnight request line
Brian Bennett – Electric rainbow
Joy Zipper – Alzheimers
ELO – Twilight
Orbital – Don’t stop me
New order – World

Miss Cyberpink – Strangeword video

If you’ve been listening to the station you might have heard some of the Parkade shows, or original ‘Radio Clash Live’ shows – and indeed mention of Amanda Shinji aka Miss Cyberpink. Well one of her great but criminally overlooked mashups is ‘Strangeword’ – a combination of ‘Depeche Mode’s ‘Strangelove’ vs Cameo’s ‘Word Up’ – on paper an odd combination but works so well in reality.

So I’ve created a new video for it, which you can see above, and it’s playlisted on Radio Clash along with the exclusive Push Groove (which has gotten the thumbs up from Lady Miss Kier herself!) which we posted about a few days ago. So if you listen you might hear this and other classic mashups modern and old between shows!

New Beastles on the way

Excited that dj BC has dropped a new Beastles track, there’s a new Beastles album on the way…and we’re hoping to bring you an exclusive on that 😉

Instamatic – Push Groove (Salt n’ Pepa vs Dee-Lite)

One of the featured mashups on the station has a new(ish) video – Push Groove by Instamatic (Salt n’ Pepa’s ‘Push It’ vs Dee-Lite ‘Groove is in the Heart’). Simple, yet effective, the video was created for Kleptonite in London. You can hear this and other mashups, remixes and re-edits on Radio Clash Live, as part of the Mix @ 6 and between shows.